Silence is Golden

I thought that moving into a flat on a quiet street just outside of the city centre would solve all of the problems that I endured last year when I was living in student accommodation blocks, but the reality has turned out to be on par with last year and it feels like I just can’t catch a break.

We are getting close to Christmas and I feel like I have lived in my current flat long enough to gain some perspective on the place and it’s about time that I shared this with my readers, as many of you are students too.

I’m going to walk you through the ins and outs of what it’s like to rent a student flat with the intention of helping others to avoid making the same mistakes that I have.

This post about student renting and the actual struggles that have accompanied my living here, which are driving me to insanity.

Choosing this flat was a hasty decision due to my current flatmate and I leaving our flat hunting to the very last minute and the pressure to find something was on. We looked at a few places but there was very little left on the market, so we looked at a few and almost settled for a very small, somewhat cheap and run down flat when the estate agent suggested another place that had just become available again and it was a no brainer.

The last-minute place was a huge hit; it was reasonable, spacious and practically perfect.

When we revisited the place for a second look, we noticed a few minor defects that needed fixing, which was fine, as the estate agents hadn’t started doing repairs at that point.

Months had passed and it was moving in day, our parents drove us up to Leicester to help us move in and that was when all hell broke loose.

Upon moving into our flat, we were given an inventory checklist in which we had one week to find and report any damages that we could find in the flat; little did we know that this wasn’t for our benefit at all and that everything that was found would go in a file to be pointed out to next year’s tenants and absolutely nothing would be fixed for us. These damages had not been noticeable before moving in and this is definitely something to be cautious of when looking to rent.

Another thing to look out for would be to check if the walls are thin and if the doors are hollow as these are the things that I wish I had checked prior to moving in.

I have the neighbours from hell; just imagine lying awake at almost six in the morning, still waiting for your neighbours to turn down their music and stop shouting at each other.

Thick walls are important and hearing every little noise from around your own flat and from your neighbours’ houses is extremely distracting when you are trying to complete various assignments.

If you follow these tips, you should have a much more comfortable experience than me.

I hope this helps,

Tea For Hannah.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

